Foto: Daniela Kummle
Alicja Patanowska

Emerging Lines

The second exhibition in the series "Emerging Lines" was held at the end of April at the art space "Kunstraum Potsdamer Straße", presenting artworks of young artists from Paris, Berlin, Wroclaw, and Riga.

06.06.2019

by Cosima Kopp (Translation: Evdokia Prassa)

Deep bass bounces off grey concrete walls. Shapes wander about in the dark. Yet, it is not a secret rave that is taking place in what used to be car park in a Potsdamer Straße backyard; it is the vernissage of the exhibition "Emerging Lines". After the first exhibition, which took place at the beginning of the year in Paris, eight artists have come together in Berlin and conceptualized a unique cluster of installations. Hailing from Paris, Berlin, Wroclaw, and Riga, the artists involved are Jonas Büssecker, Jingjing Du, Sandra Strele, Laura Vela, Charles Cadic, Joon Yoo, Pawel Basnik, and Alija Patanowska. The upcoming exhibitions in the series are set to take place in October 2019 and in February 2020, in Wroclaw and Riga, respectively.

Reflections serve as a central theme around which the entire exhibition seems to have been constructed, be they physical in the visual effect of a water installation, or metaphorical in the mirror images of the self held up to the spectators. Alija Patanowska works with porcelain in three different phases — liquid, pulverised, and in solid form as tableware. By placing dead mice and sparrows in her artwork, she demonstrates the environmental impact of consumerism.

Sandra Strele's installation illustrates the ways nature retrieves deserted wastelands. She discovered an abandoned church in a forest in Latvia, and in her piece, she foregrounds its surrounding nature. In her artwork, the footage of this process is projected onto a screen surrounded by branches from the Latvian forest, as well as by large-scale paintings that mirror this composition. Having lost its previous function, the former underground car park becomes the perfect place for exhibiting this art piece. Through Strele's installation, the art space is reclaimed by nature.

Parisian Charles Cadic presented a short film, shot at a wide stretch of beach. The film involves a box, which, at first glance, looks like a cinema auditorium. The mirror in it is a physical one, crystallised in the box's apparent screen. "You see all your life in one minute and at the end, you're in the dark", he says. In cinematic terms, his concept is based on the out-of-frame, that is, on the unseen world outside what is depicted on-screen. He thereby eventually dismisses the film medium altogether. He compares it with overlapping memories that blend into one when we try to recall them all at once.

Jingjing Du's installation offers a new urban perspective. The architecture student from Berlin transformed 84 polystyrene foam sheets into the high-rise buildings and streets around Potsdamer Platz, with a scale of 1:100. Hanging headlong from the ceiling, they reflect in the subjacent water pool. In her live performance, Joon Yoo seems to be almost suspended in the air as well. With her eyes shut, she leads a fine thread placed on her head through the car park.

"I'm avoiding to be scientific. My art is really personal and about the search of my own identity and how it forms", says Laura Vela about her art. A video installation by the Latvian-born artist is on display, as well as sculptures and paintings. For her, art is about experimentation. She proclaims that she does not like to limit herself in one art form. Her art carries a deep melancholy and forlornness of thought within itself, which transfers over to its onlookers. Seeing their stories in her paintings is the only thing that matters for Vela.

Pawel Basnik has developed an extraordinary painting technique. For his apocalyptic canvases, the Polish artist proceeds with painting the background using acrylic, followed by oil paint for the details. As soon as the picture is completed, he coats it with a layer of black acrylic paint, which he then scrapes off almost completely. His images are thereby vested with a rustic look, in sharp contrast to the future technologies they portray.

The installations by Jonas Büssecker are not any less thought-provoking. The seemingly endless constructions made of wire, ropes, metal frame, cloth, and concrete blocks resemble a labyrinth that cannot be understood unless observed from all sides. For Büssecker, they represent what he calls "the increased complexity of something simple, which is nonetheless comprehensible at the same time." The diverse materials are contained within each other, pressing and pulling. He aimed not only to depict these tensions, but also to confront his audience with them. He explains that, time and again, he has had to face those moments when the self is in the midst of unresolved tension between personal emotions and external circumstances, be they social, political, or interpersonal. In such cases, art becomes an outlet. "It is extremely satisfying when I can just turn around and leave such a moment behind me," he concludes.

Sandra Strele, photo: Daniela Kummle

Joon Yoo, photo: Daniela Kummle

Charles Cadic, photo: Daniela Kummle

Jingjing Du, photo: Daniela Kummle

Jonas Büssecker, photo: Daniela Kummle

Pawel Basnik, photo: Daniela Kummle

Laura Vela, photo: Daniela Kummle

#Culture & Things to Do

Foto: Daniela Kummle
Alicja Patanowska

Emerging Lines

Im Kunstraum Potsdamer Straße fand Ende April die zweite Ausstellung der Reihe Emerging Lines statt. Zu sehen gab es Kunstwerke von jungen Künstler*innen aus Paris, Berlin, Wroclaw und Riga.

29.05.2019

von Cosima Kopp

Ein tiefer Bass prallt von den grauen Betonwänden. Gestalten wandern in der Dunkelheit umher. Doch in dem ehemaligen Parkhaus in einem Hinterhof an der Potsdamer Straße findet kein geheimer Rave statt, sondern die Vernissage der Ausstellung „Emerging Lines“. Nach der ersten Ausstellung am Anfang des Jahres in Paris haben sich nun in Berlin acht Künstler*innen zusammengetan und eine einzigartige Ausstellung präsentiert. Die Künstler*innen stammen aus Paris, Berlin, Wroclaw (Breslau) und Riga. Mit dabei waren Jonas Büssecker, Jingjing Du, Sandra Strele, Laura Vela, Charles Cadic, Joon Yoo, Pawel Basnik und Alicja Patanowska. Die nächsten Ausstellungen der Reihe werden im Oktober 2019 in Wroclaw und im Februar 2020 in Riga stattfinden.

Ein Thema, welches sich durch die ganze Ausstellung zieht, scheinen Spiegelungen zu sein. Mal sind sie physisch wie in einer Wasserinstallation anwesend, mal wird der*dem Betrachtenden metaphorisch der Spiegel vorgehalten. Alicja Patanowska (Foto oben) zeigte Porzellan in drei verschiedenen Stadien – flüssig, pulverisiert und in fester Form als Geschirr. Durch platzierte tote Mäuse und Spatzen zeigt sie den Einfluss unseres Konsumverhaltens auf die Natur.

Wie sich die Natur vom Menschen verlassene Orte wieder zurückholt, zeigt Sandra Strele in ihrer Installation. In einem Wald in Lettland fand sie eine verlassene Kirche und brachte die umliegende Natur hinein. In ihrer Installation zeigt Sandra das Video dieses Prozesses. Die Videoleinwand ist umgeben von Ästen aus dem lettischen Wald und mit großflächigen Gemälden, die diese Komposition spiegeln. Die ehemalige Tiefgarage scheint hierfür der perfekte Ort, da auch sie ihre einstige Funktion verloren hat und durch Sandras Installation die Natur sich den Raum zurückholt.

Charles Cadic aus Paris präsentierte einen Kurzfilm, den er an einem weiten Strand filmte. Darin zu sehen ist eine Box, die anfangs wie ein Kinosaal wirkt. Der Spiegel kommt darin physisch vor und schließt die vermeintliche Leinwand. „Man kann sein ganzes Leben in einer Minute sehen und am Ende ist man im Dunkeln”, sagt er. Sein Konzept basiert auf dem Begriff des hors-champ, der in der Filmwissenschaft die nicht sichtbare Welt außerhalb der abgebildeten meint. Am Ende löst er somit das Konzept Film fast vollständig auf. Er vergleicht es mit dem Überlappen der Erinnerungen, die einen förmlich blenden, wenn man sie versucht, auf einmal aufzurufen.

Eine neue Perspektive auf die Stadt gibt die Installation von Jingjing Du. Die Berliner Architekturstudentin transformierte 84 Styroporplatten im Maßstab von 1:100 zu den Hochhäusern und Straßen rund um den Potsdamer Platz. Kopfüber an der Decke hängend spiegeln sie sich in dem darunter liegenden Wasserbecken. Fast zu schweben scheint auch Joon Yoo in ihrer Live-Performance. Mit geschlossenen Augen führt sie ein dünner Faden, welchen sie auf ihrem Kopf platziert, durch das Parkhaus.

„Ich möchte nicht wissenschaftlich sein. Meine Kunst ist persönlich und über meine Suche nach meiner eigenen Identität und wie diese sich formt”, sagt Laura Vela über ihre Kunst. Die gebürtige Lettin zeigt sowohl Videoinstallation, als auch Skulpturen und Gemälde. Sie möchte sich nicht einschränken und mag es, zu experimentieren, meint sie. Ihre Kunst trägt eine tiefe Melancholie und Gedankenverlorenheit in sich, die sich auf die Betrachtenden überträgt. Dass Menschen ihre eigene Geschichte in ihren Bildern sehen, ist das Einzige von Bedeutung, sagt Laura.

Eine ganz besondere Maltechnik hat Pawel Basnik entwickelt. Für seine apokalyptischen Gemälde malt der Pole zuerst einen Untergrund mit Acrylfarbe, darauf kommt dann die detaillierte Malerei in Ölfarben. Sobald das Bild fertiggestellt ist, überzieht er dieses mit einer Schicht aus schwarzer Acrylfarbe, welche er fast vollständig abkratzt. Die Bilder bekommen dadurch einen rustikalen Look, der im Kontrast steht zu den abgebildeten Technologien der Zukunft.

Zum Nachdenken angeregt werden die Besucher*innen auch von Jonas Büsseckers Installationen. Die scheinbar endlosen Konstruktionen aus Draht, Seilen, Metallrahmen, Tüchern und Betonklötzen sind wie ein Labyrinth, welches man von jeder Seite betrachten muss, um es zu verstehen. Er bezeichnet es selbst als „eine Verkomplizierung von eigentlich etwas Einfachem, die aber gleichzeitig auch nachvollziehbar ist.” Die verschiedenen Materialien halten sich gegenseitig, drücken und ziehen aneinander. Er möchte diese Spannungen nicht nur darstellen, sondern direkt zeigen und konfrontiert damit die*den Betrachter*in. „Ich war immer wieder mit Momenten konfrontiert, in denen man in ein Spannungsfeld rutscht, von dem, was man fühlt und was im Außen passiert. Ob in gesellschaftlichen Momenten, auf politischer Ebene oder in zwischenmenschlichen Beziehungen“, sagt er. Die Kunst sei hierbei wie ein Ventil. „Es ist ein total befriedigender Moment, wenn ich mich einfach umdrehen kann und ein Spannungsmoment hinter mir lassen kann.”

Sandra Strele, Foto: Daniela Kummle

Joon Yoo, Foto: Daniela Kummle

Charles Cadic, Foto: Daniela Kummle

Jingjing Du, Foto: Daniela Kummle

Jonas Büssecker, Foto: Daniela Kummle

Pawel Basnik, Foto: Daniela Kummle

Laura Vela, Foto: Daniela Kummle

#Kultur & Freizeit