Pixabay und J. Wu

Waacking – Beginner Workshop in 3 classes

Everyone who dances waacking expresses a unique form! Workshop with 3 classes. It's possible to join the workshop in the 2nd class on 18th June!

What is Waacking?
Waacking is a dance style that emerged in the 1970s in the club culture of the LGBT+ community in the USA. It is characterized by fast arm and hand movements that are often performed in sync with the music. Waacking is known for its energetic and theatrical movements and is often associated with expression, emotion and style. Typically, waacking is danced to disco or funk music. The dance style has developed different variations and styles over the years and today remains a popular form of expressive dance in different parts of the world.

Who is it for?
If you enjoy listening to music, especially disco, funk, house or even classical music, and if you feel the passion to move to it while listening to music, then waacking is an option you should definitely try. If you value your uniqueness or if you are trying to love yourself, then Waacking is an exciting way to discover yourself. This course requires no prior knowledge and introduces you to the world of Waacking from the ground up.

Instructor

Deimos (he/him) comes from China, currently lives in Berlin and has been dancing Waacking for many years. He is actively involved in waacking events in China and various parts of Europe and is also a member of the Waacking Berlin community. He believes that Waacking does not have only one form. Everyone who dances Waacking expresses a unique brilliance.

Language
Instruction and communication will be in both English and German.

Dates
The workshop takes place on three dates, Tuesdays every two weeks, in the Freiraum in the Studentenhaus.

  • 04.06.24, 13:00 – 14:30  Waacking Intro: Basis, culture and history
  • 18.06.24, 13:00 – 14:30  Waacking Choreo
  • 02.07.24, 13:00 – 14:30  Freestyle

Important information:

Please bring a certificate of enrollment with you.
Participation in the course is only possible for students of our partner universities.
By participating in this course, you agree to our conditions of participation.

Booking takes place via eveeno.

Date

04 June 2024 to 02 July 2024

Time

01:00 PM to 02:30 PM

Category

  • Workshop
  • Diversity
  • Stage & Music

Participation Fee

6€

Host

Kulturwerk Berlin

Location

FREIRAUM im Studentenhaus
Hardenbergstraße 35
10623 Berlin

Pixabay und J. Wu

Waacking – Beginner Workshop in 3 Einheiten

Jede*r, der Waacking tanzt, bringt eine einzigartige Form zum Ausdruck! Workshop mit 3 Terminen, ein Einstieg ist auch zum 2. Kurstermin am 18.6. möglich!

Was ist Waacking?
Waacking ist ein Tanzstil, der in den 1970er Jahren in der Clubkultur der LGBT+-Community in den USA entstanden ist. Er zeichnet sich durch schnelle Arm- und Handbewegungen aus, die oft synchron zur Musik ausgeführt werden. Waacking ist für seine energetischen und theatralischen Bewegungen bekannt und wird oft mit Ausdruck, Emotion und Stil verbunden. Typischerweise wird Waacking zu Disco- oder Funkmusik getanzt. Der Tanzstil hat im Laufe der Jahre verschiedene Variationen und Stile entwickelt und bleibt heute eine beliebte Form des Ausdruckstanzes in verschiedenen Teilen der Welt.

Für wen?
Wenn du gerne Musik hörst, besonders Disco, Funk, House oder sogar klassische Musik, und wenn du beim Musikhören die Leidenschaft verspürst, dich dazu zu bewegen, dann ist Waacking eine Möglichkeit, die du unbedingt ausprobieren solltest. Wenn du deine Einzigartigkeit schätzt oder wenn du versuchst, dich selbst zu lieben, dann ist Waacking ein aufregender Weg, um dich selbst zu entdecken. Dieser Kurs erfordert keinerlei Vorkenntnisse und führt dich von Grund auf in die Welt des Waacking ein.

Kursleiter
Deimos (he/him) kommt aus China, lebt derzeit in Berlin und tanzt seit vielen Jahren Waacking. Er ist aktiv an Waacking-Veranstaltungen in China und verschiedenen Teilen Europas beteiligt und ist auch Mitglied der Community Waacking Berlin. Er ist der Meinung, dass Waacking nicht nur eine Form hat. Jeder, der Waacking tanzt, bringt eine einzigartige Brillanz zum Ausdruck.

Sprache
Die Anleitung und Kommunikation erfolgen sowohl auf Englisch als auch auf Deutsch.

Termine
Der Workshop findet in drei Terminen, Dienstags alle zwei Wochen, im Freiraum im Studentenhaus statt. Ein Einstieg ist auch noch zum 2. Termin am 18.06. möglich. 

  • 04.06.24, 13:00 – 14:30  Waacking Intro: Basis, Kultur und Geschichte
  • 18.06.24, 13:00 – 14:30  Waacking Choreo 
  • 02.07.24, 13:00 – 14:30  Freestyle

Wichtige Informationen:

  • Bitte bringt eine Immatrikulationsbescheinigung mit.
  • Eine Teilnahme an dem Kurs ist nur für Studierende unserer Partneruniversitäten möglich. 
  • Durch die Teilnahme an diesem Kurs stimmen Sie unseren Teilnahmebedingungen zu.

Die Buchung erfolgt über eveeno.

Termin

04.06.2024 bis 02.07.2024

Uhrzeit

13:00 bis 14:30 Uhr

Kategorie

  • Workshop
  • Bühne & Musik
  • Diversity

Teilnahmegebühr

6€

Veranstalter

Kulturwerk Berlin

Veranstaltungsort

FREIRAUM im Studentenhaus
Hardenbergstraße 35
10623 Berlin