Foto: Moena Weiss

Vernissage – Smoking Birds

Musical opening of the photography exhibition by Moena Weiss

"As if I were still myself, only more sensual ..."

The vernissage will open the Smoking Birds exhibition. Everyone is warmly invited to enjoy champagne and seltzer and great music in the presence of the artist to get a first glimpse of the exhibition and to converse with the participants.

The on-going project "Smoking Birds" is a collection of portraits that show the transformation process of an individual/drag character. Moena Weiss conveys in the photographs the uniqueness and beauty inherent in different biographies and experiences. She wants the people she portrays to see what she sees through the lens of her camera when those portrayed look at her image. She is fascinated by the different facets of people and how photography can capture the way a person exists, moves and feels. Sharing this process is one of the most beautiful things for her, after all, we all want to be seen by others for who we are.

Moena Joy- Dada Weiss is a student of psychology as well as a graduate of the Neue Schule für Fotografie Berlin since 2019 and co-founder of the photo collective _Innen. Since 2018 various participations in group exhibitions: e.g. at the Harvey Milk Photography Center & LGBTQ+A Community Center in San Francisco, the Neue Schule für Fotografie and the Ori Forum for Artistic Visual Media. In December 2021, "Smoking Birds" was shown as a solo show and in April 2022 at Studio 185 at Bikini Berlin as part of the group show "Identity", as well as for Pride Month 2022 also at Galerie SLP. It is also on the short list of the Athens Photo Festival 2022.

Music:Zona_Interdunar is a live techno project born out of the random encounter of Nils Haack and Matteo Giomi. The music overlays elements of jazz, noise, and metal to obsessive rythmical structures. Monolitic beats are bridged together by improvisations adding an element of raw danger and aggression to the mix.

Date

25 November 2022

Time

06:00 PM to 09:30 PM

Category

  • Kunst
  • Diversity
  • Exhibition
  • Art

Host

Kulturwerk Berlin

Location

KUNSTRAUM Potsdamer Straße
Potsdamer Str. 65 - 67, Parkhaus im Hof
10785 Berlin

External Link

Exhibition

Foto: Moena Weiss

Vernissage – Smoking Birds

Musikalische Eröffnung der Fotografie-Ausstellung von Moena Weiss

"Als wäre ich immer noch ich, nur sinnlicher ..."

Die Vernissage eröffnet die Ausstellung Smoking Birds. Alle sind herzlich eingeladen bei Sekt und Selters und mit toller Musik in Anwesenheit der Künstlerin einen ersten Blick auf die Ausstellung zu werfen und mit den Beteiligten ins Gespräch zu kommen. 

Das on-going-Projekt „Smoking Birds" ist eine Sammlung von Porträts, die den Transformationsprozess eines Individuums/drag characters zeigen. Moena Weiss vermittelt in den Fotografien die Einzigartigkeit und Schönheit, die den verschiedenen Biografien und Erfahrungen innewohnt. Sie möchte, dass die Personen, die sie porträtiert, das sehen, was sie durch das Objektiv ihrer Kamera sieht, wenn die Portraitierten ihr Bild betrachten. Sie ist fasziniert von den verschiedenen Facetten des Menschen und davon, wie die Fotografie die Art und Weise einfangen kann, wie eine Person existiert, sich bewegt und fühlt. Diesen Prozess zu teilen, ist für sie eines der schönsten Dinge, denn schließlich wollen wir alle von anderen so gesehen werden, wie wir sind.

Moena Joy- Dada Weiss ist Studentin der Psychologie sowie seit 2019 Absolventin der Neuen Schule für Fotografie Berlin und Mitbegründerin des Fotokollektivs _Innen. Seit 2018 diverse Teilnahmen an Gruppenausstellungen: z.B. im Harvey Milk Photography Center & LGBTQ+A Community Center in San Francisco, der Neuen Schule für Fotografie und am Ori Forum für künstlerische Bildmedien. Im Dezember 2021 wurde "Smoking Birds" als Solo Show und im April 2022 im Studio 185 im Bikini Berlin als Teil der Gruppenshow „Identity" gezeigt sowie zum Pride Month 2022 auch in der Galerie SLP. Es steht außerdem auf der short list des Athens Photo Festival 2022.

Musik: Zona_Interdunar ist ein Live-Techno-Projekt, das aus der zufälligen Begegnung von Nils Haack und Matteo Giomi entstanden ist. Die Musik überlagert Elemente von Jazz, Noise und Metal zu obsessiven rhythmischen Strukturen. Monolithische Beats werden durch Improvisationen überbrückt, die dem Mix ein Element von roher Gefahr und Aggression hinzufügen.

Termin

25.11.2022

Uhrzeit

18:00 bis 21:30 Uhr

Kategorie

  • Kunst
  • Ausstellung
  • Diversity

Veranstalter

Kulturwerk Berlin

Veranstaltungsort

KUNSTRAUM Potsdamer Straße
Potsdamer Str. 65 - 67, Parkhaus im Hof
10785 Berlin

Externer Link

Ausstellung