Preparation for the university application

Application processes overview

The application process for German educational institutions is very different from that of Ukraine. Although the application process takes two to three months, it is necessary to submit the documents as early as possible. In addition, preparing and gathering documents may take more time than it seems at the beginning. This section contains a list of required documents and admission characteristics in various cases.

A) I have just finished the 11th grade of school (also without a school-leaving certificate).

Since 2019, in Ukraine, after 11th grade and passing the exam, you get the school-leaving certificate "Svidoctvo pro zdobuttja povnoji zahal'noji serednoji osvity. ", the Abitur. Since the general higher education entrance qualification in Germany is only achieved after completing the 12th or 13th school year, you must make up for a "gap year", i.e. study at least one year at a Ukrainian higher education institution or attend a preparatory course in Germany, in order to apply to a German higher education institution.

 Please note: If you completed grade 11 this year but were unable to graduate, you can still apply to a German educational institution. Submit a copy of your 11th grade grades and any other documents your school may provide. However, this only applies if you have a residence permit according to § 24 of the Residence Act.

 

B) I will take my Abitur in Germany

If you have a German school leaving certificate, the admission procedure for you is the same as for German applicants.

 

C) I have finished the 9th grade of school and continued my education at college.

For enrolment at a German educational institution, you need a school-leaving certificate (Zeugnis über den Erwerb der mittleren Basisschulbildung, in Ukrainian "Svidoctvo pro zdobuttja bazovoji seredn'oji osvity"), and a college certificate stating the number of courses completed and the subjects taken at that time.

 

D) I have completed a Bachelor's degree and would like to enrol for a Master's degree.

Not every Ukrainian degree automatically entitles the holder to take up further studies in Germany. Please contact the university you would like to study at with your question about admission in order to receive an accurate assessment of your degree.

Further information on the recognition of university degrees and on planning your studies in Germany can be found here.

 

E) I am studying at a Ukrainian university and would like to transfer to a German educational institution

In the section "Direct University Admission" you will find information on university admission to a German university if you are already studying in Ukraine. Please note: Due to differences in academic teaching, it is possible that you will "lose" one or two years of study in Ukraine and have to enroll in a lower semester in Germany.

 

F) I am a researcher and am interested in opportunities to do academic work in Germany.

Numerous universities, research institutions and research-based companies in the country offer opportunities for refugee doctoral candidates to take up or continue doctoral projects and research projects in Germany.

The DAAD website contains the most important information and many offers for refugee researchers.

What is a Studienkolleg?

The Studienkolleg is a preparatory course for foreigners who wish to enter German educational institutions and whose secondary school leaving certificate does not meet German standards. The Studienkolleg usually lasts two semesters. Studienkollegs are usually affiliated with universities.

What is taught at the Studienkolleg?

The Studienkolleg prepares international applicants without a university entrance qualification for studying at a German university. All subjects except the specialist subjects are taught in German. The final examination at the Studienkolleg is the so-called Feststellungsprüfung.

A Studienkolleg offers 4 courses of study:

G/S - humanities, arts, social sciences

W - economic

T - technical

M - medical

In all study programs the German language is a compulsory subject and can be learned in advance in a propaedeutic course.

What are the particularities of the application process?

Find out about the application process on the website of the Studienkolleg you wish to enroll in. Applicants* usually have to apply for the study program at the university where the Studienkolleg is working. For example, if you want to enroll in a technical program at the Technical University of Berlin, you must apply for the Bachelor of Mathematics and the system will automatically direct you to the Studienkolleg.

Studienkolleg vs. direct admission to the university

The Studienkolleg gives you time to adjust to Germany and the educational system and also time to think if you have not yet decided on your desired field of study. In addition, you can make friends there. The biggest advantage of a Studienkolleg, however, is the lower level of German required: for a university you need a C1-C2 level, for a Studienkolleg - B1-B2 (more rarely: C1).

Another advantage of the Studienkolleg is that universities often reserve study places for students of their Studienkolleg. For example, if you studied at a Studienkolleg at the Technical University of Berlin, a certain number of places are reserved for graduates of the T-course for admission to the technical fields of study at the same university.

Necessary documents for admission to the Studienkolleg

  1. Secondary school leaving certificate. The secondary school leaving certificate must be translated into German or into English.
  2. Passport. A copy of your passport is sufficient. If you have lost your foreign passport, you can get a new one at the Embassy of Ukraine (please note that the waiting time can be 3-6 months).
  3. Language certificate (German). Educational institutions in Germany accept only official certificates. Please see the section "What counts as a proof of my German language skills?".
  4. Other. E.g. letters of recommendation, letters of motivation, certificates of specialized studies (for example, an internship with the Red Cross) or similar. Often they are not required, but can increase your chances of admission. The requirements for these documents vary depending on the university and the platform through which the documents are submitted.

Costs
There is no charge for taking the entrance test, classes, or the assessment test.
You pay a semester fee per semester (including a semester ticket).

Application deadlines
Application for the summer semester: September 15 to November 30
Application for the winter semester: March 15 to June 30

 

Further information on the Studienkolleg at:

https://www.studienkollegs.de/index.html

To be able to study at a university in Germany without a Studienkolleg, you must have a German language level of C1 (more rarely B2, C2) and have studied at a Ukrainian university for at least one year.

 

What documents are required for university admission without a Studienkolleg?

Secondary school leaving certificate. The secondary school leaving certificate must be translated into German or English.

A document certifying study at a Ukrainian university for a degree program and containing a list of completed subjects. An academic certificate with the complete academic achievements issued after the completion of the academic year is required. This document is necessary to prove that you have made up the academic difference between Ukrainian and German schools. For a successful application, contact the university where you will enrol. It usually works like this: Mathematics, physics, chemistry are required for a technical major - this means that in the first year you have to complete the subjects that are counted as necessary for the technical major.

Passport. A copy of your passport is sufficient. If you have lost your passport, you can get a new one at the Embassy of Ukraine (please note that the waiting time can be 3-6 months).

Language certificate. Educational institutions in Germany only accept official certificates. See section "What counts as proof of my German language skills?" and "Education in English".

Other. E.g. letters of recommendation, letters of motivation, certificates of specialised studies (for example, an internship with the Red Cross) or similar. They are often not required, but can increase your chances of admission. The requirements for these documents vary depending on the university and the platform through which the documents are submitted).

Application deadlines summer semester 2023:

15 January 2023

Fortunately, no additional introductory courses are required for admission to a Master's program (except in rare cases depending on the field of study and the educational institution in Ukraine).

What documents are required for enrollment in a Master's program?

  • Bachelor's degree (The Bachelor's degree must be translated into German or into English. For more information, please refer to the section "Application: General Questions").
  • Passport (A copy of your foreign passport is sufficient. If you have lost your passport, you can get a new one at the Embassy of Ukraine (please note that the waiting time can be 3-6 months).
  • Language certificates German and / or English (educational institutions in Germany accept only official certificates.)
  • Other (e.g. letters of recommendation, letters of motivation, certificates of specialized studies (for example an internship with the Red Cross) or similar. They are often not required, but can increase your chances of admission. The requirements for these documents vary depending on the university and the platform through which the documents are submitted).

Vorbereitung für die Hochschulbewerbung

Bewerbungsprozesse im Überblick

Der Bewerbungsprozess für deutsche Bildungseinrichtungen unterscheidet sich stark von dem der Ukraine. Obwohl das Bewerbungsverfahren zwei bis drei Monate dauert, ist es notwendig, die Unterlagen so früh wie möglich einzureichen. Darüber hinaus kann das Vorbereiten und Zusammensuchen von Dokumenten mehr Zeit in Anspruch nehmen, als es am Anfang scheint. Dieser Abschnitt enthält eine Liste der erforderlichen Dokumente und Zulassungsmerkmale in verschiedenen Fällen.

A) Ich habe gerade die 11. Klasse der Schule beendet (auch ohne Schulabschluss)

Seit 2019 erhältst du in der Ukraine nach der 11. Klasse und bestandener Prüfung den Schulabschluss “Svidoctvo pro zdobuttja povnoji zahal'noji serednoji osvity. ”, das Abitur. . Da die allgemeine Hochschulreife in Deutschland erst nach Abschluss des 12. oder 13. Schuljahres erreicht wird,  musst du für eine Bewerbung an einer deutschen Hochschule ein „Gap Year“ nachholen, also mindestens ein Jahr an einer ukrainischen Hochschule studieren oder ein Studienkolleg in Deutschland besuchen.

Bitte beachte: Wenn du die 11. Schulstufe dieses Jahr beendet hast, aber keinen Schulabschluss machen konntest, kannst du dich trotzdem an einer deutschen Bildungseinrichtung bewerben. Reiche eine Kopie deiner Noten der 11. Klasse und aller anderen Dokumente ein, die deine Schule möglicherweise bereitstellt. Dies gilt allerdings nur,  wenn du eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis nach § 24 Aufenthaltsgesetz hast.

B) Ich werde mein Abitur in Deutschland machen

Wenn du ein deutsches Schulzeugnis hast, ist das Zulassungsverfahren für dich das gleiche wie für deutsche Bewerber*innen.

C) Ich habe die 9. Klasse der Schule beendet und  meine Ausbildung  am College fortgesetzt

Für die Immatrikulation an einer deutschen Bildungseinrichtung benötigst du einen Schulabschlussnachweis (Zeugnis über den Erwerb der mittleren Basisschulbildung, auf Ukrainisch „Svidoctvo pro zdobuttja bazovoji seredn‘oji osvity“), und eine Collegebescheinigung über die Anzahl der absolvierten Kurse und die damals belegten Fächer.

D) Ich habe einen abgeschlossenen Bachelor und möchte mich für einen Master einschreiben

Nicht jeder ukrainische Studienabschluss berechtigt automatisch zur Aufnahme eines weiterführenden Studiums in Deutschland. Wende dich bitte mit der Frage zur Zulassung an die Hochschule,an der du studieren möchtest, um eine zutreffende Bewertung deines Studienabschlusses zu erhalten.

Weitere Informationen zur Anerkennung von Hochschulabschlüssen und zur Planung des Studiums in Deutschland findest du hier.

 

E) Ich studiere an einer ukrainischen Hochschule und möchte an eine deutsche Bildungseinrichtung wechseln

Im Abschnitt "Direkter Hochschulzugang" findest du Informationen zum Hochschulzugang an einer deutschen Hochschule, wenn du bereits in der Ukraine studierst. Achtung: Aufgrund der Unterschiede in der akademischen  Lehre ist es möglich, dass du ein oder zwei Studienjahre in der Ukraine „verlierst“ und dich in Deutschland in einem niedrigeren Semester einschreiben musst.

F) Ich bin Forschende*r und interessiere mich für Möglichkeiten, in Deutschland wissenschaftlich zu arbeiten

Zahlreiche Hochschulen, Forschungseinrichtungen und forschenden Unternehmen des Landes bieten geflüchteten Promovierenden Möglichkeiten an, Promotionsvorhaben und Forschungsprojekte in Deutschland aufzunehmen oder fortzusetzen.

 Auf der Website des DAAD sind die wichtigsten Informationen und viele Angebote für geflüchtete Wissenschaftler*innen zu finden.

 

Was ist ein Studienkolleg?

Das Studienkolleg ist ein Vorbereitungskurs für Ausländer*innen, die in deutsche Bildungseinrichtungen eintreten wollen und deren Sekundarschulabschluss nicht deutschen Standards entspricht. Das Studienkolleg dauert in der Regel zwei Semester. Studienkollegs sind in der Regel an die Hochschulen angegliedert. 

Was wird am Studienkolleg gelehrt?

Das Studienkolleg bereitet internationale Studienbewerber*innen ohne Hochschulzugangsberechtigung auf ein Studium an einer deutschen Hochschule vor. Alle Fächer außer den Fachfächern werden in deutscher Sprache unterrichtet. Die Abschlussprüfung im Studienkolleg ist die sogenannte Feststellungsprüfung.

Ein Studienkolleg bietet 4 Studiengänge an:

G/S  - Geisteswissenschaften, Kunstwissenschaften, Gesellschaftswissenschaften

W - wirtschaftlich

T  - technisch

M - medizinisch

In allen Studiengängen ist die deutsche Sprache ein Pflichtfach und kann vorab in einem Propädeutikum erlernt werden.

Welche Besonderheiten gibt es bei der Bewerbung?

Informiere Dich über den Bewerbungsprozess auf der Website des Studienkollegs, an dem du dich einschreiben möchtest. Bewerber*innen müssen sich in der Regel für den Studiengang an der Universität bewerben, an dem das Studienkolleg arbeitet. Wenn du dich beispielsweise für einen technischen Studiengang an der Technischen Universität Berlin einschreiben möchten, musst du dich für den Bachelor Mathematik anmelden und das System leitet dich automatisch zu dem Studienkolleg weiter.

Studienkolleg vs. Direktzulassung an der Uni

Das Studienkolleg gibt dir Zeit, dich an Deutschland und an das Bildungssystem anzupassen und auch Bedenkzeit, wenn du dich noch nicht für die gewünschte Fachrichtung entschieden hast. Außerdem kannst du dort Freund*innen finden. Der größte Vorteil eines Studienkollegs ist jedoch das geringere erforderliche Deutschniveau: Für eine Universität benötigst du ein C1-C2-Niveau, für ein Studienkolleg - B1-B2 (seltener: C1).

Ein weiterer Pluspunkt des Fachhochschulstudiums: Hochschulen reservieren oft Studienplätze für Studierende ihres Studienkollegs. Wenn du zum Beispiel an einem Studienkolleg der Technischen Universität Berlin studiert hast, dann ist eine bestimmte Anzahl von Plätzen für Absolventen des T-Kurses für die Zulassung zu den technischen Fachrichtungen derselben Universität reserviert.

Notwendige Unterlagen für die Zulassung zum Studienkolleg

  1. Sekundarschulabschluss. Das Reifezeugnis muss auf Deutsch oder auf Englisch übersetzt werden.
  2. Reisepass. Eine Kopie des Reisepasses genügt. Wenn du dein ausländischer Pass verloren hast, kannst du bei der Botschaft der Ukraine einen neuen bekommen (bitte beachte, dass die Wartezeit 3-6 Monate betragen kann). 
  3. Sprachzertifikat (Deutsch). Bildungseinrichtungen in Deutschland akzeptieren nur offizielle Zeugnisse. Siehe bitte den Abschnitt "Was gilt als ein Nachweis meiner Deutschkenntnisse?".
  4. Sonstiges. Z. B. Empfehlungsschreiben, Motivationsschreiben, Bescheinigungen über Fachstudiengänge (zum Beispiel ein Praktikum bei dem Roten Kreuz) o.ä.. Oft sind sie nicht erforderlich, können aber Deine Zulassungschancen erhöhen. Die Anforderungen an diese Dokumente variieren je nach Hochschule und Plattform, über die die Dokumente eingereicht werden.

Kosten
Die Teilnahme am Aufnahmetest, am Unterricht und an der Feststellungsprüfung sind kostenlos.
Du bezahlst pro Semester einen Semesterbeitrag (inklusive Semesterticket).

Bewerbungsfristen
Bewerbung für das Sommersemester: 15. September bis 30. November
Bewerbung für das Wintersemester: 15. März bis 30. Juni

Weitere Informationen zum Studienkolleg gibt es hier.

Um ohne Studienkolleg an einer Hochschule in Deutschland studieren zu können, musst du über ein Deutschniveau von C1 (seltener B2, C2) verfügen und mindestens ein Jahr an einer ukrainischen Hochschule studiert haben.

Welche Unterlagen werden für den Hochschulzugang ohne Studienkolleg benötigt?

  1. Sekundarschulabschluss. Das Reifezeugnis muss auf Deutsch oder auf Englisch übersetzt sein.
  2. Ein Dokument, das das Studium an einer ukrainischen Universität für einen Studiengang bescheinigt und eine Liste der abgeschlossenen Fächer enthält. Benötigt wird eine akademische Bescheinigung mit den vollständigen Studienleistungen, die nach Abschluss des Studienjahres ausgestellt ist. Dieses Dokument ist notwendig, um nachzuweisen, dass du den akademischen Unterschied zwischen ukrainischen und deutschen Schulen aufgeholt hast. Für eine erfolgreiche Bewerbung wende dich an die Universität, an der du dich einschreiben wirst. Das funktioniert in der Regel so: Für eine technische Fachrichtung werden Mathematik, Physik, Chemie verlangt – das heißt, man muss im ersten Jahr die Fächer absolvieren, die für die technische Richtung als notwendig gezählt werden.
  3. Reisepass. Eine Kopie des Reisepasses genügt. Wenn du Dein Pass verloren hast, kannst du bei der Botschaft der Ukraine einen neuen bekommen (bitte beachten Sie, dass die Wartezeit 3-6 Monate betragen kann). 
  4. Sprachzertifikat. Bildungseinrichtungen in Deutschland akzeptieren nur offizielle Zeugnisse. Siehe Abschnitt "Was gilt als ein Nachweis meiner Deutschkenntnisse?" und "Bildung auf Englisch".
  5. Sonstiges. Z. B. Empfehlungsschreiben, Motivationsschreiben, Bescheinigungen über Fachstudiengänge (zum Beispiel ein Praktikum beim Roten Kreuz) o.ä.. Oft sind sie nicht erforderlich, können aber Deine Zulassungschancen erhöhen. Die Anforderungen an diese Dokumente variieren je nach Hochschule und Plattform, über die die Dokumente eingereicht werden).

Bewerbungsfristen Sommersemester 2023:
15. Januar 2023

Glücklicherweise sind für die Zulassung zum Masterstudium keine zusätzlichen Einführungskurse erforderlich (außer in seltenen Fällen, die von der Fachrichtung und der Bildungseinrichtung in der Ukraine abhängen).

Welche Unterlagen werden für die Immatrikulation in einen Masterstudiengang benötigt?

  1. Bachelor-Abschluss (Der Bachelor-Abschluss muss auf Deutsch oder auf Englisch übersetzt werden. Weitere Informationen dazu finden Sie unter im Abschnitt "Bewerbung: Allgemeine Fragen".)
  2. Reisepass (Eine Kopie des ausländischen Reisepasses genügt. Wenn du Dein Pass verloren hast, kannst du bei der Botschaft der Ukraine einen neuen bekommen (bitte beachten Sie, dass die Wartezeit 3-6 Monate betragen kann).
  3. Sprachnachweise deutsch und/ oder englisch (Bildungseinrichtungen in Deutschland akzeptieren nur offizielle Zeugnisse.)
  4. Sonstiges (z.B. Empfehlungsschreiben, Motivationsschreiben, Bescheinigungen über Fachstudiengänge (zum Beispiel ein Praktikum bei der Roten Kreuz) o.ä. Sie sind oft nicht erforderlich, können aber Deine Zulassungschancen erhöhen. Die Anforderungen an diese Dokumente variieren je nach Hochschule und Plattform, über die die Dokumente eingereicht werden.)